A vegan’s guide to the grocery store: What is and is NOT vegan.

When I went home at Christmas, I found this amaaaazing soy cheese at my sister’s local store and I was delighted. I went about eating nachos  and such for days before reality hit me hard. Not only was my lovely new cheese not vegan, it wasn’t even vegetarian. This is the same time I realized that most dairy cheeses aren’t even vegetarian. Eww.

When I went online to do some research I found a great article on CHOW about the things that you think are vegan that aren’t and I was a bit mortified. Like, did you know that Campari is made from bugs? Or that most grocery store bread has animal based lecithin in it? Lecithen (animal based ones) is an emulsifier made from animal blood – in case ya didn’t know. I also knew, vaguely, that many beers and wines aren’t vegan or vegetarian unless specifically so, but I never really knew why. Again, vaguely, I knew that fish bones are often used in wine making, but CHOW told me that, even worse, fish bladders are used as clarifiers in beer making. Mmmmm. Check out the full article for all the details.

Bon Appetit!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in News/Nouvelles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A vegan’s guide to the grocery store: What is and is NOT vegan.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A vegan’s guide to the grocery store: What is and is NOT vegan. « Veggie Femmes -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s